Cloud Computing reference model

The reference model for cloud computing is an abstract model that characterizes and standardizes a cloud computing environment by partitioning it into abstraction layers and cross-layer functions.

From the book of Sir Rajkumar Buyya Cloud computing reference model

The Cloud Computing Reference Model provides a conceptual framework for understanding and categorizing the various components and functions of cloud computing. It helps define the relationships and interactions between different cloud computing elements. The most widely recognized and used reference model is the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Cloud Computing Reference Architecture.

Let’s explore the key components of the NIST Cloud Computing Reference Model:

1. Cloud Service Models:

  • Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS): Provides virtualized computing resources, such as virtual machines, storage, and networks, on-demand to users.
  • Platform as a Service (PaaS): Offers a platform with development tools, libraries, and services for users to build and deploy applications.
  • Software as a Service (SaaS): Delivers software applications over the internet, typically accessed through web browsers, without the need for installation or maintenance.

2. Cloud Deployment Models:

  • Public Cloud: Resources are owned and operated by a cloud service provider and made available to the general public over the internet.
  • Private Cloud: Resources are exclusively used by a single organization, providing greater control, security, and customization.
  • Hybrid Cloud: Combines public and private cloud environments, allowing data and applications to be shared between them.
  • Community Cloud: Shared infrastructure and services are used by a specific community or group of organizations with shared interests or requirements.

3. Essential Characteristics:

  • On-Demand Self-Service: Users can provision computing resources as needed without requiring human intervention from the service provider.
  • Broad Network Access: Services are accessible over standard network protocols and can be accessed by various devices.
  • Resource Pooling: Computing resources are shared and dynamically assigned to users based on demand, with multi-tenancy support.
  • Rapid Elasticity: Resources can be scaled up or down quickly to meet changing demands.
  • Measured Service: Cloud service usage is monitored, controlled, and billed based on specific metrics, providing transparency and cost optimization.

4. Cloud Service Orchestration:

  • Refers to the management and coordination of multiple cloud services to deliver end-to-end solutions.
  • It involves integrating various services, components, and workflows to achieve business objectives efficiently and effectively.

5. Cloud Security and Management:

  • Covers the governance, security, and management aspects of cloud computing.
  • It includes identity and access management, data protection, compliance, monitoring, and service-level agreement (SLA) management.

The NIST Cloud Computing Reference Model provides a standardized framework to understand the key components and relationships within cloud computing. It serves as a common language for discussing and designing cloud-based solutions, enabling interoperability and facilitating the adoption of cloud computing technologies.