PPL: Primitive Data Type

Primitive data types are data types which are not defined with support of other data types.
Some of the primitive data types are:
1. Numeric types
2. Boolean types
3. Character types
  1. Numeric Types: These are the numbers.
    1. Integer: A data type that represents some range of mathematical integers. Different programming languages supports different size of integers.                                                        For example,  
      • Java includes four signed integer sizes: byte, short, int, and long.
      • C++ and C#, include unsigned integer types (value without sign).
      • int age = 20;
    2. Floating-Point: Floating-point data types model real numbers. Most languages include two floating-point types, often called float and double.
        • Float type is the standard size, usually being stored in four bytes of memory.
        • Double type is provided for situations where larger fractional parts and/or a larger range of exponents is needed.

        The collection of values that can be represented by a floating-point type is defined in terms of precision and range.

        • Precision is the accuracy of the fractional part of a value, measured as the number of bits.
        • Range is a combination of the range of fractions and, more important, the range of exponents.
    3. Complex: Complex values are represented as ordered pairs of floating-point values. It contains a imaginary number. It includes operations for arithmetic on complex values.
      For example, in Python, (8 + 2j), contains j as imaginary number.
    4. Decimal: Decimal data types store a fixed number of decimal digits. For example, the number 0.1.

  2. Boolean Types: It has only two elements, true and false. Boolean types are often used to represent switches or flags in programs.
  3. Character Types:  It stores a single character and requires a single byte of memory in almost all compilers.